|All Saints’ and Panagia Vlaherna‘s church|
A small fraternity gave life to the church. In the year 1851 the Fraternity of The Butchers, who used to have a small church consecrated to the Panagia Vlaherna in the New Fortress of Corfu, proposed to All Saint’s fraternity the unification of the two churches, as theirs had been destroyed by the British, who occupied Corfu.
The Butchers transferred to the new church the temple, the historical icon of Panagia Vlaherna, and all the icons which exist today. The Butcher’s fraternity greatly helped the church. When they were selling a calf, they used to keep the money from one of its legs, and offer the amount to the church. Today the fraternity does not exist.
The church was refurbished recently. The visitor will be attracted by the temple, which is of silver, the icons of Dodekaorton, - painted by a famous local artist named Hrisoloras - which combine the byzantine and the local style of painting. “Estavromenos” (Christ in the Cross) is of a unique anatomy. There are also paintings that belong to a famous local painter named Samartzis, and the icon of St. Nicolaos, a sample of pure byzantine art.
All Saints’ Church celebrates two feast-days every year: All Saints’ Day (Eight weeks after Easter) and Panagia Vlaherna’s day (Second of July).